Bob Hope Classic History

The 1960s – Early Bob Hope Classic History

Anders Hansen makes a tee shot on the second hole during the final round of the Bob Hope Classic The first Bob Hope Classic tournament winner was Arnold Palmer, who dominated the field. His total of 338 (22 under par) set a tournament record that would not be broken for nearly 20 years.

Bob Hope played in the early years and added his name to the tournament in 1965 when he became the Chairman of the Board.

Bob Rosburg formed the distinctive five-day, four-course format. The original courses were named Thunderbird, Tamarisk, Bermuda Dunes and Indian Wells.

The 1970s – Celebrities and Champions

The 1970s heralded the arrival of Johnny Miller, who took over as champion of the Bob Hope Classic. Miller won back-to-back Classic titles and achieved six consecutive top-four finishes.

Many celebrities also participated during this period, including Frank Sinatra, Jack Benny, Sammy Davis Junior, Jackie Gleason and Dean Martin.

The 1980s – The Tournament Thrives

During this era, competition at the Bob Hope Classic Golf Tournament was more severe than ever before. In fact, the Bob Hope Classic odds were so tough that this was to be the only decade in which the tournament saw no repeat winner.

The 1980s brought the addition of a new course. The PGA West was added to the Bob Hope Classic course rotation in 1987.

The 1990s – Presidential Glory

In 1995, the formation of a team of US Presidents – Bill Clinton, George Bush and Gerald R. Ford – made Bob Hope Classic history by being the first time an incumbent US president played during a PGA Tour event.

The 2000s – The Bob Hope Classic Club Course

For the 2006 Bob Hope Classic Tournament, fans witnessed the premiere of the tournament’s own home course – The Classic Club. Arnold Palmer designed the layout, which offered the sternest test of golf in the tournament’s 47-year history. At over 7,300 yards, this was the longest course ever played in the event.